Canada announces NWSL allocations for 2014

The Canadian Soccer Association (CSA) and National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) have announced the official list of allocated players for the 2014 season, including 16 from the Canada Women’s National Team.

In addition to some returning players, four new Canadians have been allocated across the league’s nine clubs. The 16 allocated Canadians that will be featuring in this NWSL season are: Jonelle Filigno, Robyn Gayle, Selenia Iacchelli, Kaylyn Kyle, Karina LeBlanc, Adriana Leon, Diana Matheson, Erin McLeod, Carmelina Moscato, Rachel Quon, Sophie Schmidt, Desiree Scott, Lauren Sesselmann, Christine Sinclair, Chelsea Stewart, and Melissa Tancredi.

The 16 Canadians join 26 Americans, and eight Mexicans, allocated by their respective federation, for a total of 50 allocated players in NWSL for the 2014 season.

The CSA is subsidising the salaries of its 16 players, while United States Soccer Federation (USSF), and the Mexican Football Federation (FMF) do the same for their allocated players.

The club-by-club allocations of all 50 players are as follow:

 Boston Breakers

Pos Player
Mexico MF Dinora Garza
United States DF Meghan Klingenberg
Canada MF Kaylyn Kyle
United States MF Kristie Mewis
United States MF Heather O'Reilly
Canada DF Chelsea Stewart

 Chicago Red Stars

Pos Player
United States MF Shannon Boxx
Canada FW Adriana Leon
United States DF Amy LePeilbet
Canada GK Erin McLeod
United States FW Christen Press
Canada DF Rachel Quon

Houston Dash

Pos Player
United States DF Whitney Engen
Mexico MF Teresa Noyola
Canada FW Melissa Tancredi

FC Kansas City

Portland Thorns FC

Seattle Reign FC

Pos Player
United States GK Nicole Barnhart
United States FW Lauren Holiday
United States FW Amy Rodriguez
Mexico GK Cecilia Santiago
United States DF Becky Sauerbrunn
Canada MF Desiree Scott
Canada DF Lauren Sesselmann
Pos Player
Mexico FW Jackie Acevedo
United States DF Rachel Buehler
United States MF Tobin Heath
Canada GK Karina LeBlanc
United States FW Alex Morgan
Canada FW Christie Sinclair
Pos Player
United States DF Stephanie Cox
United States FW Sydney Leroux
Canada DF Carmelina Moscato
United States FW Megan Rapinoe
Mexico MF Arianna Romero
United States GK Hope Solo

Sky Blue FC

 Washington Spirit

Western New York Flash FC

Pos Player
Canada MF Jonelle Filigno
United States GK Jill Loyden
Mexico FW Monica Ocampo
United States FW Kelley O’Hara
United States DF Christie Rampone
Canada MF Sophie Schmidt
Pos Player
United States MF Yael Averbuch
Mexico FW Renae Cuellar
Canada DF Robyn Gayle
United States GK Ashlyn Harris
United States DF Ali Krieger
Canada MF Diana Matheson
Pos Player
Canada MF Selenia Iacchelli
United States MF Carli Lloyd
Mexico MF Veronica Perez
United States FW Abby Wambach

The 2014 NWSL season is scheduled to start on April 12th. More details on expansion draft, college draft, and season schedule will be released as it becomes available.

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) is a nine-team Division-I women’s professional soccer league featuring national team players from Canada, Mexico, and the United States. The nine clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Houston Dash, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit, and Western New York Flash FC. Based in Chicago, the NWSL is supported by the Canadian Soccer Association, Mexican Football Federation, and the United States Soccer Federation. For more information about the NWSL, log on to the league’s official website at